Homemade ‘Comet’ Powdered Cleaning Product

I have wanted to make this forever and finally did this afternoon. I wish I had done it much sooner, because it literally took me 5 minutes from start to finish, clean up and all.

This is more about the fact that making a 16 oz. bottle of this cost me, maybe 50 cents, than it is ‘green’ cleaning. Although I am always for anything easy we can do to be good stewards of our planet…I like my bathrooms clean, and I do mean CLEAN, mmmk?

But so far I have been very pleased with this stuff! And it smells so good.

Materials:
2 cups baking soda
1/2 cup Borax powder
Drops of essential oil (completely optional, but gives great fragrance)
Large mixing bowl
A clean, empty plastic powdered parmesan cheese container

Instructions:
Dump the powders into a large mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly with hands. Sprinkle in several drops of whatever essential oils you enjoy or have on hand. I used about 5-10 drops each of lavender, lemon grass, and tea tree oil. (Tea tree oil also has antibacterial and anti fungal properties which aids in the cleaning powder of the product) Mix with hands again thoroughly, breaking up any clumps. Spoon into clean parmesan cheese container. Use it to clean like you would ‘Comet’ cleaner. Thats it!

4 Comments

Filed under Crafty's

4 responses to “Homemade ‘Comet’ Powdered Cleaning Product

  1. Laura

    sounds great! Maybe I will get around to making this!

  2. Bliss

    I have started making my own cleansers and was telling my husband I wish I could find something “comet” like the other day! Thank you!

  3. M. Maestas

    Does it bleach the way Comet does?

    • robinsonhomesweethome

      It does not bleach by itself, however if you poured some hydrogen peroxide into the toilet/sink/counter top, etc. that you were trying to clean, it could whiten like bleach does. I have used hydrogen peroxide in my laundry as a stain remover on whites. Works well! The powder mix recipe works as a gentle abrasive like Commet.

Leave a Reply

