My Conversion to Yard Saling

It was love at first sale…just last year my parents took hubby, little boy and I Yard Saling in St. Louis.  At the first stop, I found this gorgeous fabric.

IMG_4039

See the beautiful gold stitching?  And that red color…I LOVE it!

There was the perfect amount of fabric to make my dream Duvet (Comforter Cover) for our down comforter.  I bought it all for 0.75…and immediately I was hooked.  (A post to come on the duvet which is in the process of being made!)

Since then I have come a long way.  Having my own yard sale, learning the in’s and out’s of yard saling…etc.  I can’t help but jump with jubilant glee in my heart when finding something that is PERFECT and exactly what I have been looking for at a yard sale for $0.25!!  I have found that if I hold out long enough in buying something, either the need/want for it disappears, or I will find the item in perfect condition for 95% off of the price that I would have bought it for brand new in the store.  Wanna see some examples??

My vintage flour container turned kitchen utensil holder: $0.25!

IMG_4046

These and…

IMG_3659

IMG_3660

…these.

Twenty pieces of boys size 18-24 month clothing in BRAND NEW condition, for $15.oo.  That money would only buy Little Man 1 or 2 shirts brand new from the store.  This lot includes a winter coat, a fleece pull over, fall hooded jacket and sweater, lots of pants, long sleeve shirts, 4 pajama sets, and 3  short sleeve shirts and one jumper for next summer.

Remember my black painted picture frame? $2.00

Or my dream fireplace candelabra? $1.00

And did I happen to tell your about our printer that died after we first moved here?  Well it did…went kaput.  So I researched and found the printer I was going to buy at full price for $79.99.  (Yikes…that would be a hard purchase for me.)  So what did I do?  I held out.  And I prayed…seriously.  I talked to God about how I knew we didn’t actually NEED a printer, how I realized that we wouldn’t freeze or starve without it… but that if we had one it would be so nice.  I prayed that He would provide us a way to purchase a printer for less so that we would have more money to give away.  And guess what?

Two weeks later, I went to a yard sale and guess what I found…?  That very printer, BRAND NEW.  I bought it for $25.00, and the owner threw in a color and a black ink cartridge for free.  I praised my Provider all the way home.

Have I won you over to yard sailing yet?

2 Comments

Filed under Crafty's

2 responses to “My Conversion to Yard Saling

  1. karen

    Yes, I myself love yard sales!

  2. Pingback: A Frugal Semi-Failure « The Robinson's Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

